Committee Assignments

EUSD has a variety of committees that advise and shape the work of the District in partnership with various stakeholder groups. Following are board member assignments to these committees.

Budget / LCAP Communications Committee

The district’s Budget Communications Committee consists of a representative from each school site, the education center, Maintenance and Operations, Special Education, the employee unions, administration, and the Board of Education. Committee objectives are to effectively communicate budget information to, and solicit input from, EUSD stakeholders. The committee meets four times a year. – Georgine Tomasi, Joan Gardner

City-School Subcommittee

The School Subcommittee is designed to bring together elected officials from local government and the public school districts to discuss areas of mutual interest. The representatives from the City Council are appointed by the mayor and currently are council members Michael Morasco and  Consuelo Martinez. The City Manager is the staff liaison. – Georgine Tomasi, Mark Olson

County Joint Boards

When there is a need for board communication among neighboring districts or with the San Diego County Office of Education, the board president would represent the district for this purpose. – Doug Paulson

District Advisory Committee

The purpose of DAC is to involve parents in the planning, development, and evaluation of Title I programs and services in the district. The committee includes a representative from the every School Site Council and a School Board representative. – Rotating

District English Language Advisory Committee

The purpose of the DELAC is to advise the district’s local governing board on programs and services for English learners. The committee is composed of representatives from each school’s ELAC-English Learner Advisory Committee and a School Board representative. – Rotating

District Insurance Committee

The district insurance committee is an advisory group that assists the district in recommending quality insurance benefits for the best value. The committee consists of representatives from the Escondido Elementary Educators Association, the Classified School Employees Association, management, supervisor/confidential, board members, and consultants. – Joan Gardner, Mark Olson

GATE Collaborative

The purpose of the GATE Collaborative is to provide selected parents, community members, teachers, and administrators an opportunity to become informed about Gifted and Talented programs and who will serve as an advisory group to district staff as they design, implement, and evaluate services for the EUSD Gifted and Talented Education (GATE) program. The committee is composed of representatives from across the district to include all of the above stakeholder groups and two School Board representatives.
Joan Gardner, Georgine Tomasi

New Teacher Induction Advisory Board

The New Teacher Induction program is a state-approved professional development program designed to provide opportunities for first- and second-year teachers to complete state requirements for earning their professional clear credential. Assigned board members who participate on the advisory committee assist in program evaluation, development, and implementation. They review program data and provide recommendations that provide support for beginning teachers and support providers throughout EUSD. – Doug Paulson, Frank Huston